UK Underground Geocaches bookmark list


Firstly apologies that my blog has been quiet for a few weeks. I’ve been working on a bit of a Geocaching project! πŸ™‚ I decided to try and compile a bookmark list of all of the UK’s underground caches. I severely underestimated the amount of time and effort that it’d take me to put it together, but finally it is done! It was one of those “I’ve started so I’ll finish” kinds of job which I didn’t want to abandon. It took days to find suitable caches with references to caves/mines/quarries/bunkers in the description, and then days to filter through them to find, for example, caves that were true caves and not little 1m by 1m holes in a rock! It then took days to update the information in the bookmark list so that details about the caches can be quickly obtained. All in all, it was about 3 weeks of work, on and off which ate a hole into my usual blogging time. I was overwhelmed by how many underground adventures there are lurking around our country!

UK Underground caches

The final product is called Going Underground and is available here. It is currently a list of 360 caches in the UK and Ireland that are either underground or near underground features. Some of the caches will require you to go into caves, tunnels, etc. to retrieve them, but some will just lead you to them ready for exploration. Some features will include miles of underground chambers, but others will just be small sea caves. There really is a mixture!

I’ve included a rating system in the bookmark list which is based on the following:
* – Mentions an underground feature, but not enough info to tell how good it is.
** – Mentions an underground feature, some information, but couldn’t be sure how good it was unless I visited.
*** – Mentions an underground feature, and it looks like a good place to visit.
**** – Mentions an underground feature, and it looks like great fun, will definitely try to visit one day.
***** – Mentions an underground feature, and the cache looks absolutely amazing. I MUST GO HERE WHEN I’M IN THE AREA OR MAKE A SPECIAL TRIP TO DO IT!

I’ve also added the 5 star and 4 star caches to separate shared bookmark lists so you can search through just the best (in my opinion) of underground caching.

An example of the entries on the list

It is of course, just a personal project because I wanted to find these caches. Some information may be inaccurate due to the shear number I had to process, and some caches may be missing. If you can think of any I’ve missed then please let me know and I’ll add them. For now, enjoy and I hope it comes in handy for other people too. I will attempt to update the list monthly/bi-monthly with recently published underground caches to help keep the list up to date as well! πŸ™‚

9 Responses to “UK Underground Geocaches bookmark list”

  1. Annemarie Halls Says:

    This is awesome and must have taken hours of work. Thank you so much for putting all the underground caches together. There’s even some in Ireland that I hadn’t previously spotted. So they are now on the GPS ready for our trip next week. Thanks Cass.

  2. geocass Says:

    That’s brilliant, glad it’s of help. You’re lucky because I nearly didn’t include Ireland! πŸ™‚ Marble Arch caves look fabulous though. The problem now of course is that I have so many places I need to visit! Don’t think I can fit in visiting Scotland, Ireland, and Wales before the year is out though! Lol!

  3. Gavin Urquhart (@gavinurquhart) Says:

    Wow – this is very exciting. Thanks for putting in all this work. Definitely a list I want to work through!

  4. Happileigh Says:

    Great work! There’s a nice one above Haweswater in the Lake District http://coord.info/GC1QAWB The CO has been kind and put the cache just inside the mouth of the old mine, but there’s some ‘orrible dark tunnels(limited)to explore πŸ™‚

  5. Neil McManus Says:

    Great list! I may have to investigate a few near me. I have an underground hide, GC3DQ31 Wellies Required. It’s where a tunnel was built over the burn (stream) and a mining bing created on top. Lovely old brick work too. There are some great photos in the logs. My mate HaggisHunter found an old wheelchair nearby and used it to access the cache!

    • geocass Says:

      Haha! That’s brilliant, I love the pics of HaggisHunter doing it in the wheelchair. I’ve added it to the list, many thanks for letting me know!

  6. Mr. Anonymous Says:

    Are there any nice underground caches near Glasgow or Edingburgh?


Leave a Reply

