Sawtry Saunter and Lutton Walk – The Cambridgeshire countryside at its best


On Saturday we headed north towards Huntingdon for (yes, you’ve guessed it) some more poshrule trails. These were Sawtry Saunter (23 caches over 4.6 miles), and Lutton Walk (22 caches over 4.2 miles).

Sawtry Saunter

We started off with Sawtry Saunter, a series we had planned to do a few weeks ago when we were in the area, however were put off by a sudden surge of rain. I’m so glad that we had delayed it as we saw some amazing wildlife out on sunny Saturday…

The walk started off at a lovely open park near a housing area. We immediately marked it as the place to stop for a lunctime picnic as our reward for completing the series.

The perfect picnic spot

The first few caches were easy enough to find, however we were distracted by a large bird in the distance which I spotted whilst I was taking some photographs of the views.

The bird is just about visible in the distance

As we got closer we soon realised that it was a very special bird, it was in fact a Red Kite. They have very distinct wings and forked tails so even we were able to identify it. Suddenly the caching became far less important as we were transfixed on the red kite gliding through the sky. We watched it for 10 minutes as it soared over our head.

The red kite over head

It’s the first red kite that we’ve ever seen as they are quite rare here and once almost extinct, however it seems that their population are increasing in the UK now. We definitely saw proof of that too as our red kite was joined by two more! The first kite minded his own business and continued gliding through the sky, this time making a loud, crying noise. The other two kites continued flying together before flying off.

The three red kites

As if the lovely sunny morning wasn’t enough to make us smile, seeing three red kites was a real “pick me up”. We continued around the fields to the caches and were treated to an array of wild flowers and plants surrounding the edges of the field.

Hiding in the grass

Spikey!

Thistles around the field edge

Wild flowers around the field edge

I'm not too sure what this is. It was spikey, yet soft!

The wild flowers and corn fields glowed beautifully in the summer sun. It was so picturesque and our favourite poshrule trail out of them all. The cache hides were varied as always with mostly micros, however some regulars for swaps.

Carefully balancing whilst retrieving one of the regulars

We completed the series and sat in the park with our picnic. It simply was the perfect end to a perfect morning of caching.

To rest our feet between trails, we took the long way to our next series by adding a selection of drive-by caches. One of the first was The Mighty 8th – Polebrook. This cache is located near the memorial to the US 8th airforce on a former USAF base. A very interestingly shaped memorial.

Memorial to the Mighty 8th

We then headed on to Morborne Transmitter #1, a cache placed for the massive BBC and BT masts that transmit from Morborne Hill. We’d seen these transmitters in the distance on many poshrule series. It wasn’t until I was logging some of the other drive-bys on my iPhone as we approached this cache that I noticed there wasn’t just one cache for the Morborne transmitter, by 7! 6 more had been published after I had run my PQ. Luckily I noticed as we drove right past them so were were able to pick up some extra caches. At each cache you could see the transmitter. It really was quite magnificent.

The Morborne transmitter. Wow!

Lutton Walk

We started off by grabbing a cache near the church in Lutton before heading out into the countryside.

Lutton church

Before reaching the fields we stopped at a gate to a sheep field. I was busy fiddling in my bag trying to find my camera when an elderly gentleman came up to us and asked if we knew where we were going. Although I said yes he still told us which path to take through the sheep field to get onto the footpath. He said he was going in the opposite direction to get his dog. We carried through the sheep pen. They were very friendly and tried to follow us.

Something tells me it is dinner time soon...

We had to take a break at cache 4 as the cache location looked like it required a bit of rummaging and we could see the elderly gent and his dog approaching… very slowly though! We crashed out on the ground and waited for them to pass. His sheepdog was first around the corner to check on us with his owner some distance behind.

Max the sheepdog

The elderly gent was quite surprised to see us sitting there and started chatting to us, asking where we were heading. “Erm, just that way” I said as I pointed down the hill. “Oh, just going for a nice walk are you?” he asked. He then started talking to us about his sheep dog, Max who he said taught him all he knew about sheep herding. I asked how old Max was, and I think the man was a bit mutton Jeff as he replied “We’re walking down the hill then back”. He soon disappeared and headed off and we were able to rummage for our cache. The down we went to the next cache and bumped into him as he was heading back. Again, he stopped to chat to us, telling us of a nice route to another village, and saying if we wanted a short walk we could cut around the field, although we’re not really meant to. It turned out that he was actually the farmer, however he said that his son does most of the work now. After another lengthly chat he and Max headed back as he said he had to give the sheep their dinner. We didn’t mind bumping into a muggle in this case. It was lovely to speak to him. He was a bit deaf, and forgetful, but I think quite pleased to bump into someone to talk to.

We headed through the fields and to another sheep field. There were some more hungry sheep in this one too (Must remember that around 3:30-4pm is sheep feeding time!!!) and one particular young sheep thought we obviously had some food for him so he came bleeting and running straight at us. Ah! I wasn’t really able to just walk on and started reversing with the sheep coming right at me, whilst I was waving a stick asking him to please go away. I even tried throwing my stick, but he didn’t fetch it. (Well there’s a surprise Cass!) I eventually had to pull myself together and just push past the sheep. I was a bit worried he was going to nibble me. It’s not often you find friendly sheep, and there’s me being all scared. Needless to say I got laughed at for the rest of the series about it. I will try to be more brave on our next friendly sheep encounter!!!

The over friendly sheep! (Yes, yes I know I'm a chicken!!)

After crossing the deadly sheep field 😉 we encountered another red kite in the sky. Number 4 for today, although it could have been one of the ones that we saw earlier as this series was only a few miles away. I was really kicking myself that I hadn’t brought my zoom lens today as I could have got a much better photo. 😦

Red kite #4

Around this series we also got treated to views of the Morborne transmitter after seeing it up close earlier. I’m sure on a clear day it can be seen from anywhere in the country!!! 😉

The Melbourn transmitter yet again

We finished the series by walking through a huge strawberry farm. It was a little tricky finding the footpaths, however the CO had given directions and we pulled out the OS maps to be sure as there were some of the employed pickers playing football nearby and we didn’t want to stray.

Many tunnels of strawberries

The final hide on the series, cache 22 was actually the hardest to discover as it just seemed like there were so many candidates for it. We searched long and hard and were rewarded with our cache and pleased that we didn’t have to end the day on a DNF. Just as we walked away from GZ something moved in the ivy underfoot. It was a little brown frog. He stayed very still and posed just long enough for me to snap a photo of him.

Look carefully and you'll see a little froggy

It was just such a fantastic day for caching and I think we picked some fabulous series that really came to life with the sunshine. As a bonus we also picked up the CO’s (poshrule) “Twit Twoo” TB from one of the drive-by caches. I’ve decided to take the little owl under my wing (oh, haha!) and take him on a few little journeys so that I can write some stories and post some photos on his adventures. The little owl came with us for an adventure on Monday evening when we got 8 FTF’s on some caches very near home on the Dick Turpin trail paths. I hope I can take him to some more interesting places before he flys away. 🙂

Twit Twoo out caching with us!

4 Responses to “Sawtry Saunter and Lutton Walk – The Cambridgeshire countryside at its best”

    • geocass Says:

      Ha! Well what a coincidence! Thank you for letting me know what it is. I take it that’s the one you phoned me about. Sorry I wasn’t much help, but glad that you got into it! 🙂

  1. ally Says:

    Hi cass, have you organised a meet in the local herts/essex area, could not find it on the website?


Leave a Reply

