Virtual Geocaches will be back in Spring?


Back when I thought bringing back virtual Geocaches was a good idea I placed one of my votes on the suggestion someone added on the Geocaching feedback site. Last night I had a notification that Jeremy (President of Groundspeak) had added the following note:

“We have a basic draft of the functionality complete and are trying to schedule the development of the concept along with other projects like maps, statistics, API and favorites. Our hope is to get something out by spring. Fingers crossed.”

You can see the full discussion here.

Since voting I’ve changed my mind as I had looked at waymarking. It just seems to me that it’ll be hard to control and some people will just submit virtuals at water pumps, and churches for example when a physical cache would be fine. You never know, it may be a very skilful implementation that completely works… We shall wait and see…

3 Responses to “Virtual Geocaches will be back in Spring?”

  1. Martin Says:

    Even though I agree it would be sad if people set up a virtual cache where they could have hidden a decent box, I think I’d rather that than find (or not find) a nano there.

  2. Tweets that mention Virtual Geocaches will be back in Spring? « GeoCass UK GeoCaching -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Mac. Mac said: RT @geo_cass: Virtual Geocaches will be back in Spring?: http://wp.me/pWG1k-u7 […]

  3. firennice Says:

    Many of us are crossing our fingers and hope it works out. In the past a virtual could share the same spot as a cache. One is a virtual after all.


Leave a Reply

