My first Earthcache (“The Leper Stone”)


Our earthcache The Leper Stone (Newport Sarsen Stone) has just been published! ๐Ÿ˜€

After reading sumajman’s blog post about hiding his first earthcache I was suitably inspired to get off my of bum and sort out the listing for the one I had been planning to do for months.

I had initially delayed doing it as I had read on forums that people had real difficulty getting earthcaches approved as they were very strict on permission. But in sumajman’s blog post it seemed like he hadn’t had a problem. Right, time to get this idea in motion! I carefully did a write up and thoroughly researched it. On Saturday we were passing the spot on our way to London so armed with the GPSr and the DSLR for the day I was able to grab some coords and some good piccies and submitted the cache on Sunday.

I received an email from the reviewer a day later as there was a problem. My questions seemed a bit too easy and the reviewer thought you could get away with not visiting it to answer all questions. Also, my wording of taking a photo of the stone was slightly bad as it implied that I required the person’s face in the photo. I amended this so it’s a photo of the person with the stone, or a photo of the GPSr with the stone. No requirement for a face! ๐Ÿ˜€ I also changed one of the questions.

So let me educate you all a little bit about what our earthcache is.

The view facing Newport

This Leper Stone is at the side of the road in Newport, Essex just at the entrance of the village. It’s a ‘Sarsen Stone’. This is a large sandstone boulder which in this case stands very tall in its spot. Infact it’s the largest standing Sarsen Stone in Essex which makes it particularly special. It’s believed that these stones were formed when the sands and pebble seams of river beads were exposed to the surface back when Essex was hot and dry 20 million years ago. During this time, water with dissolved silica would have cemented the pebbles and sand together. Erosion would have broken up the boulders and they would have been distributed by glaciers and rivers during the ice age.

The view facing away from Newport

There are many mysteries that surround these stones. Why weren’t they broken up and used as building materials? And how did they get to their locations? It would be near impossible for this Lepher stone to stand up so tall on it’s own. The origins of its name are thought to have come from the fact that it was once situated alongside a leper hospital. At the stone food was supposedly left for the lepers who were lodged at St Leonard’s Hospital nearby.

Today our earthcache was approved without a problem and I didn’t need any specific permission. I’m very pleased to be the owner of one as I do love earthcaches!

Happy earthcaching! ๐Ÿ™‚

Posted in Hides. Tags: . 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “My first Earthcache (“The Leper Stone”)”

  1. sumajman Says:

    Congratulations! I am hoping to list a few more earthcaches as I travel. Maintaining these is easy. Just recently I listened to a podcacher (Geocaching podcast) piece concerning an on-going discussion about creating historical virtual caches, something like earthcaches but promoting history. I would like to see that. Good job on the earthcache. I would love to go visit it someday.

    • geocass Says:

      Excellent ๐Ÿ™‚ The more earthcaches the better. I heard that podcacher podast too and thought it was a great idea but as Sunny pointed out it’s going to be so hard to review/handle. We’ve recently been doing caching trips to our capital city, London and on literally every corner there’s something to mark something in history. I would love to see something like that though. There’s something great and unique in our town which would make a good history cache, but I’ve just got permission from the council so that I can turn it into a multi-cache with the task being to visit it to get numbers from the plaque, but the physical cache being a little way away. I guess multi’s will have to do for now. ๐Ÿ™‚ Were going out to hide it tonight.

  2. ErikaJean Says:

    awesome! Maybe some day I’ll be able to claim it as a find ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. 2010 in review « GeoCass UK GeoCaching Says:

    […] The busiest day of the year was September 30th with
    376 views. The most popular post that day was My first Earthcache
    (“The Leper Stone”). […]


Leave a Reply

