WHAT? You don’t like trails? :(


I was shocked to read a recent topic on the UK section of the Geocaching forums where many users said that they weren’t keen on trails and considered them to be “all about the numbers”. I thought everyone loved trails as we do and there are plenty in our area to go around. People started mentioning power trails but I think they got a bit confused and started thinking trails with a good few caches along a good few miles are power trails. They are not! I googled Power Trails and the Geocacher University website backed up my understanding:

“A series of caches placed in close proximity to each other–usually just over .1 mile apart. The caches are normally quick finds a quick way to rack up some numbers. Power trails are looked down upon by some and frowned upon in the Geocaching.com guidelines.”

We don’t have them in the UK. The closest I’ve found is the 109 caches in 20 miles that I blogged about in a recent post.

One great thing I did pick up from that topic however was a GeoCaching website I had no idea about… http://geocachetrails.com/index.html A list of trails! Check it out, if you love trails as much as we do. I may submit some soon… :)

2 Responses to “WHAT? You don’t like trails? :(”

  1. Dick Nielson Says:

    It really depends on the trails. A trail of dna tubes in the desert was slow and rough.
    A trail in the mountains or a walkway can be enjoyable and nice.

  2. toflabeuze Says:

    Thank you for this psot, geo-trails ate my favorite hobby ! walk, enjoy the nature and play our favorite game in the same way :-) I wrote some posts about my walks (sorry, in french), for instance :

    http://tofgeocaching.wordpress.com/2012/01/28/randocaching-bouches-du-rhone-allauch-marseille/


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 532 other followers